Destiny 2: How to Unlock Every Subclass

Destiny 2: How to Unlock Every Subclass

Destiny 2 contains three subclasses for every one of its Hunter, Warlock, and Titan classes. However, players will need to unlock the second and third subclasses while playing that game under certain prerequisites.

The first subclasses received in Destiny 2 will occur automatically by following the game’s story. After playing the opening mission, Homecoming, which causes Guardians to lose their powers, the next few missions involve stumbling out of the Last City and finding the game’s new social space, The Farm.

Very quickly, players will go on a story mission to find a shard of the Traveler in the European Dead Zone, which will unlock one of the game’s newest subclasses. Depending on the class, that will be the Dawnblade, Arcstrider, or Sentinel. Unlocking the second and third subclasses will take a little doing as players progress through the game.


Finding a Relic

The process of unlocking the second and third subclasses are the same, albeit they are available to different level thresholds. In order to unlock the second set of subclasses (Voidwalker, Gunslinger, and Striker), players will need to first reach Level 7. The third set of subclasses, commonly called The Taken King subclasses (Nightstalker, Sunbreaker, and Stormcaller) require players to be Level 15. Once those thresholds has been crossed, players will need to find a relic to kick off the quest of gaining their next subclass.

The relics drop from chests out in the world, and they actually do so with pretty high frequency once Level 7 and 15 are reached. Places to find chests on a destination include public events, Lost Sectors, Adventures, killing high-value targets, and even golden destination chests.

Once a relic drops, players will receive an on-screen notification that they have received one. A darkened-out subclass node will be added next to the other subclass in the player’s character screen.

destiny 2 public event preview

Kill enemies

To complete the quest with the relic, players need to simply kill enemies. While the tool tip on the quest says this needs to be completed in public events alongside other players, it actually will count any kill during any destination activity including story missions, Adventures, Lost Sectors, or even just wandering around a destination in the open world.

Once that is completed, players will receive a notification that the next step of the quest is available. This will send them back to the European Dead Zone.

Go to the Shard of the Traveler

A new mission will pop up on the Director at the top of the European Dead Zone map, which will kick off a special mission. These missions are pretty cool, as they deliver some lore about the world and the subclass players are about to unlock along the way.

Once players reach the end of the level, they will activate the shard of the Traveler, granting them their new subclass. Pools of light will appear all over the area which will instantly recharge the player’s super and grenade. Waves of enemies will pour in, so to complete the mission, run from pool of Light to the next, charging the subclass abilities to unleash them on the enemies.

After enough waves, the mission will end and the subclass will be added permanently to the player’s character.

Destiny 2 is available now on PS4 and Xbox One, and releases on October 24, 2017 on PC.

Star Fox Zero

Star Fox Zero

21 April 2016
The Walking Dead

The Walking Dead

30 December 2017